TEGNA

President's Rings Awarded by Gannett's U.S. Community Publishing

April 29, 2011

MCLEAN, Va., Apr 29, 2011 (BUSINESS WIRE) --

Bob Dickey, president of Gannett (NYSE: GCI) U.S. Community Publishing (USCP), today announced the recipients of USCP President's Rings for outstanding performance during 2010. President's Rings are the division's top honor.

"These honors reinforce our commitment to the local communities we serve. Our local leadership teams provide quality journalism and content important to our readers along with a variety of marketing services to help local businesses grow. This has been a tradition at Gannett for more than 100 years," said Dickey. "We are extremely proud of these winners. They provided a high level of leadership and served their communities well during the past year."

President's Rings have been awarded to the following 38 top performers. The top ten publishers will be announced tomorrow, April 29.

"A special acknowledgement goes to the following three winners who exhibited extraordinary leadership during the past year," said Dickey. Those winners receiving special acknowledgement:

- Carol Hahn, vice president/Advertising, Cincinnati, OH (three-time winner)
- Julie Harvey, vice president/Finance, Midwest Group Controller, Des Moines, IA (five-time winner)
- Randy Lovely, senior vice president/News and Audience Development, Phoenix, AZ (four-time winner)

Winners:

- Kelly Acevedo, vice president/Human Resources, Tucson, AZ (three-time winner)
- Paul Anger, editor and publisher, Detroit (MI) Free Press (six-time winner)
- Becca Boles, marketing director, Pensacola, FL (three-time winner)
- Joe Braunschweig, regional circulation director, Wisconsin (seven-time winner)
- Kathy Cheatham, senior human resources business partner, Nashville, TN (four-time winner)
- Brooke Christofferson, vice president/Market and Business Development, Phoenix, AZ (first-time winner)
- Jack Conaboy, regional operations director, Lansing, MI (first-time winner)
- Greg Fiorito, regional production director, Wisconsin (seven-time winner)
- Bob Gabordi, executive editor, Tallahassee, FL (four-time winner)
- David Gould, vice president/Advertising, Nashville, TN (seven-time winner)
- Rick Green, editor and vice president/News, Des Moines, IA (two-time winner)
- Toni Humphreys, director, Gannett Imaging Ad Design Center, Des Moines, IA (first-time winner)
- Bennie Ivory, executive editor, Louisville, KY (twelve-time winner)
- Scott Johnson, president and publisher, St. Cloud, MN, and former regional advertising director for Wisconsin (two-time winner)
- Stacia King, advertising director, Lansing, MI (first-time winner)
- Don Lemire, vice president/Finance, East Group Controller, Wilmington, DE (eight-time winner)
- Julie Lusk, vice president/South Region, Human Resources Business Partner Team, Brevard, FL (seven-time winner)
- Sherri Maurer, controller, Palm Springs, CA (three-time winner)
- Wayne Peragallo, east group director, Vice President/Information Technology, Asbury Park, NJ (nine-time winner)
- Patrick Peregrin, vice president/Sales & Marketing, Indianapolis, IN (four-time winner)
- David Preisser, vice president/Operations, Cincinnati, OH (four-time winner)
- Joel Rohlik, vice president/Finance, Tucson, AZ (two-time winner)
- Jack Roth, vice president/Production, East Group Director (four-time winner)
- Jack Saunders, vice president/Circulation, Phoenix, AZ (first-time winner)
- Susan Schwartzkopf, vice president/Market Development and New Media, Greenville, SC (five-time winner)
- Tammy Shannon, advertising director, Burlington, VT (first-time winner)
- Stu Shinske, executive editor/director of Content and Audience Development, Poughkeepsie, NY (first-time winner)
- Mark Silverman, editor and vice president/Content and Audience Development, Nashville (ten-time winner)
- Mike Spector, vice president/West Region, Human Resources business partner team, Phoenix, AZ (six-time winner)
- Rebecca Steckler, senior vice president/Advertising, Detroit Media Partnership (two-time winner)
- Hollis Towns, executive editor and vice president, Information Center, Asbury Park, NJ (two-time winner)
- Mike Townsend, executive editor, Burlington, VT (first-time winner)
- Melinda Vonderahe, director/Marketing and Digital Sales, Wisconsin (two-time winner)

- Carolyn Washburn, editor and vice president, Cincinnati, OH (six-time winner)
- Dave Wuertemberger, vice president/Finance, Cincinnati, OH (five-time winner)

Judges for the President's Ring contest were Gannett Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Craig Dubow; Gracia Martore, president and chief operating officer; Dickey; Evan Ray, senior vice president of finance and operations, U.S. Community Publishing; Michelle Krans, senior vice president/strategy and development, U.S. Community Publishing; Kate Marymont, vice president/news, U.S. Community Publishing; and Roxanne Horning, senior vice president of Human Resources.

About Gannett

Gannett Co., Inc. (NYSE: GCI) is an international media and marketing solutions company that informs and engages more than 100 million people every month through its powerful network of broadcast, digital, mobile and publishing properties. Our portfolio of trusted brands offers marketers unmatched local-to-national reach and customizable, innovative marketing solutions across any platform. Gannett is committed to connecting people - and the companies who want to reach them - with their interests and communities. For more information, visit www.gannett.com.

SOURCE: Gannett Co., Inc.

Gannett

For media inquiries, contact:

Robin Pence Vice President, Corporate Communications 703-854-6049 rpence@gannett.com

OI

For investor inquiries, contact:

Jeffrey Heinz Director, Investor Relations 703-854-6917 jheinz@gannett.com